



Report Reference Number: C/21/22 - Urgent Report

To: Council

Date: 19 April 2022

Author: Victoria Foreman, Democratic Services Officer

Lead Officer: Janet Waggott, Chief Executive

**Executive Member:** Councillor Mark Crane, Leader of the Council

Title: Urgent Item - Recalculation of Political Proportionality of the Council and Subsequent Changes to the Membership of Committees for the remainder of the 2021-22 Municipal Year

## **Summary:**

This report provides details of the recalculation of political proportionality of the Council following recent changes to political a group, and the subsequent amendments to the number of places on, and membership of, the Council's committees for the remainder of the 2021-22 municipal year.

#### **Recommendations:**

- 1. To note the changes to the membership of political groups on the Council and the subsequent recalculation of political proportionality on the Council's Committees.
- 2. To agree, as a result of these changes, the places on the Planning Committee for the remainder of the 2021-22 municipal year.
- 3. To nominate and agree the position of Chairman of the Planning Committee.

#### Reasons for recommendation

To meet legislative requirements and to enable the proper functioning of the Council in the remainder of the 2021-22 municipal year. The Council are encouraged to have sight of any changes to political balance for transparency.

## 1. The Report

1.1 The political balance of the Council was last confirmed at its meeting held on 24 February 2022, following the by election for the Byram and Brotherton District Ward. At that meeting, the balance was:

Conservatives: 19

Labour: 8

Independent Group: 4

1.2 The political balance has been altered to the following:

Conservatives: 18

Labour: 8

Independent Group: 4

Unaligned: 1

1.3 The changes to the membership of groups on the Council requires the recalculation of political proportionality for committee places; therefore, there will be minor changes to Planning Committee places for the remainder of the 2021-22 municipal year. Before recalculation, the Planning Committee membership was 6 Conservative seats, 2 Labour seats one Independent seat and was as follows:

Chairman: Councillor John Cattanach Vice Chairman: Councillor John Mackman

Councillor Mark Topping Councillor Ian Chilvers Councillor Keith Ellis

Councillor Charles Richardson

Councillor Bob Packham Councillor Paul Welch Councillor Don Mackay

1.4 The changes to the seats are set out below:

Planning Committee allocation (following the recalculation)

Conservative: 5 (reduced by 1 seat)

Chairman: TBC

Vice Chairman: Councillor John Mackman

Councillor Mark Topping Councillor Ian Chilvers Councillor Keith Ellis

Councillor Charles Richardson

Labour: 2 (stays the same)
Councillor Bob Packham
Councillor Paul Welch

**Independent: 1 (stays the same)** 

Councillor Don Mackay

**Unaligned: 1** 

Councillor John Cattanach

Total seats on Planning Committee: 9

- 1.5 Committee places on the Licensing, Scrutiny, Audit and Governance and Policy Review Committees stay the same.
- 1.5 Consultation has been undertaken in respect of the changes with the leaders of each of these political groups represented on the Council.
- 1.6 As a result of the above change, an amendment to the position of Chairman of the Planning Committee can be proposed by Members following the agreement of the revised committee places.

# 2. Alternative Options Considered

None - appointments to Council Committees are required to ensure Council business can be conducted legally.

## 3. Implications

## 3.1 Legal Implications

Section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 places a duty on the Council to allocate seats on Ordinary Committees of the Council between the political groups in accordance with the following principles:

- a) That not all the seats on the body to which appointments are being made are allocated to the same political group;
- b) That the majority of seats on each committee are allocated to a particular political group if the number of persons belonging to that group is a majority of the authority's membership;
- c) That subject to (a) and (b), when allocating seats to a political group, the total number of their seats across all the ordinary committees of the Council, must reflect their proportion of the authority's membership; and
- d) Subject to (a) to (c), that the number of seats on each committee is as far as possible in proportion to the group's membership of the authority.
- 3.2 The Local Government and Housing Act 1989 requires that, once the Council has determined the allocation of committee places between the political groups, the Council must then appoint the nominees of the political groups to the committees.

3.3 For the purpose of this process there are three political groups making up the Council; the Conservative Group, the Labour Group, the Independent Group and one unaligned member. In order to meet the requirements of Section 15(c) the unaligned member is entitled to one seat. In order to meet the requirements of Section 15(b) and ensure that the majority party has the majority on each committee it is proposed that place be on Planning Committee. A group consists of two or more members of Council who have indicated that they wish to be treated as a group. Political groups are entitled to their proportion of seats and once their entitlement has been reached, any remaining seats may be filled by Councillors not belonging to a political group.

# 3.2 Financial Implications

Councillors are entitled to claim for travel expenses incurred when attending meetings physically, but there are no direct financial implications related to the change in political balance. The cost of servicing Committees will be met through the existing budgets.

## 4. Conclusion

That the Council makes appointments to Committee places for the remainder of the 2021-22 municipal year.

# 5. Background Documents

None.

# 6. Appendices

None.

#### **Contact Details:**

Victoria Foreman
Democratic Services Officer
vforeman@selby.gov.uk